Life Lessons

Oboe Life: Take 14 – My Summer Is Already Over???

What do you mean I only have 3 more weeks of Summer left?

Wasn’t sure how I managed to get through this summer really fast, but it went by quicker than I thought. I question whether or not I did what I wanted to do during my break from school, and whether or not I accomplished what I had initially set out to do the day after Graduation. Well, I’m gonna list off what my plans were for the summer, and then put a comparative list of what I actually have done so far.

What I Planned For:

  • Making 10 workable Oboe Reeds
  • Practicing at least 5x a week
  • Playing with the Summer Youth Orchestra
  • Getting my Oboe serviced
  • Freshmen Orientation
  • Doing the Pride Parade
  • Going to Universal Studios
  • Loosing Weight
  • Discover 5 new hiking trails
  • Reading 2 new Jodi Piccoult books
  • Packing my room
  • Going to music camp
  • Make a Tshirt quilt
  • Make Macarons
  • Teaching my rabbits tricks

What I’ve Done:

  • Practicing 5x out of the whole summer
  • Playing with the Summer Youth Orchestra
  • Buying 3 Oboe reeds (shame on me)
  • Getting my Oboe Serviced
  • Freshmen Orientation
  • Pride Parade
  • Universal Studios
  • Discovered 2 new Hiking trails
  • Lost 6 pounds
  • Went to Sea World
  • Downloaded Pokemon Go
  • Ate Bulgolgi Fries for the First time
  • Slept
  • Eat
  • Slept…snore

I think in more ways than none, I did do majority of the things I had set out to do for the summer, but it still bugs me that I didn’t accomplish all of it especially with all the weeks that had passed by. Now, with only 3 weeks left, I feel like I’m rushing to try to finish my list. Actually, I have started that T-Shirt quilt, I just need to get a sewing machine. So what’s left for me to do now is practice all that I have left for that darn placement audition and to finish packing my room. I think my Macaron making will be tested in the next week or so because I’ve really tried these past few years to learn how to make it instead of buying 1 for like $2.50 (that’s expensive…maybe they use unicorn blood in the batter).

Oh! I did try to teach my rabbits 1 trick and that’s to swim, but for new comers it was very splashy, and I made the mistake of video taping it and posting it on Instagram (I entered them into this contest, and because they looked liked they were panicking, they disqualified our video). I ended up taking it down because I was being blamed for animal cruelty and how I killed them, but rest assured I actually did my research and seeked professional advice from a vet who is a member of the House Rabbit Society of San Diego. Eventually, Percy Grainger really did enjoy the water later on as he got use to it, it was pretty cool.

Well, that’s all I could probably think about for my summer. Pictures to come as I sum up my summer in the next post. *Should I do Vlogs???*

Leave a Reply

